The Legislative Branch

Turkish Grand National Assembly

Legislative authority is vested in the Turkish Grand National Assembly (TGNA, or Parliament). The TGNA is made up of 550 deputies who are elected every four years. Deputies represent the entire nation and before taking their seats, take an oath of office as contained in the Constitution.

The duties and authority of the TGNA are outlined as follows: to pass, amend and abrogate laws, to supervise the Council of Ministers (Cabinet) and ministers, to give authority to the Council of Ministers (Cabinet) to pass decrees with the power of law, to adopt the budget and final account draft laws, to ratify the printing or minting of currency, to make decisions to declare war, martial law or emergency rule, to approve the signing of international agreements, and to make decisions for declaring general or special amnesties.

Next > The Executive Branch